Broken Grey Wires

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 2.09.03 PM.png

Lizz Brady. Installation view during alt_break art fair 2016 at The Fountain House Gallery. 

The result of the artist making art is the release of that work from the artist to the viewer. Art has the means to be cathartic by releasing the artist’s innermost thoughts and sharing them with the outside world. Once the artwork is released, it is the role of the viewer to make connections from the fragmented pieces that the artist released. Studies have suggested that there is viable evidence for a neurological relationship between visual creativity and language.

Lizz Brady, an artist based in the United Kingdom explores various themes relating to mental health and mindfulness, which yearn to harmonize the expressive and psychological artistic process with the subjective experience of the viewer.

Brady is the founder of Broken Grey Wires (BGW), an art collective that seeks to create a comfortable and welcoming space for creative minds to engage in topics that concern mental health and psychology. Below Lizz Brady and I discuss the benefits of art within the areas of psychology and mental health.

How did you meet the other four members of the collective? 

I have known Jared for a long time, as he taught me a lot about art whilst I was at university. I met Robert (Good) when I submitted work to his organisation ‘art language location’ in Cambridge (UK)

Kirsty (Harris) and Alex (Storey Gordon) have met through working on Broken Grey Wires events, Alex up in Glasgow and Kirsty here in Manchester when she DJ’d at our website launch.

What are some of the strengths that each member brings towards the mission of BGW?

They all bring extreme knowledge of the arts, experience, contacts, empathy, wisdom, adventure and intellect. Its exciting to think what we can achieve together.

It’s incredible to see the impact that BGW has had in both the fields of visual art and mental health, what is next on the horizon for you and your fellow artists? 

We have an exhibition at Islington Mill here in Manchester, in September. The title of the show is from my favourite book, Cather in the Rye. “Liberate yourself from my vicelike grip.”

 We then have a major exhibition in London, showing work from David Shrigley, The Chapman Brothers, Jeremy Deller, The Vacuum Cleaner and many more. This has been a show which has taken a long time to organise so im looking forward to opening night already!

How has art making had an impact on you personally? 

It has saved my life, not to be so dramatic or anything, but it has. As I learn more about art, the more I fall in love with it. If I am struggling with my depression, and I go to my studio and create something, then everything can seem alright again. If I read, and discover some obscure link between lunar theory and morphic resonance, then I become excited and want to read more.

It’s a distraction from the voices I hear, but it is also a way to explore the hallucinations. To communicate what is going on inside my head. Im lucky I have some sort of output. 

Leave a Reply

