The Truth of the Matter Is:

Benny Andrews, American Gothic, 1971, oil and collage on canvas, 60 x 50 in.

Benny Andrews, American Gothic, 1971, oil and collage on canvas, 60 x 50 in.

Benny Andrews, 1968, oil, collage, wood, canvas, and chains, 70 x 28 x 25 in.

Benny Andrews, 1968, oil, collage, wood, canvas, and chains, 70 x 28 x 25 in.

Benny Andrews, Benny Andrews, The Unmentionables, 1970, oil and collage on canvas, 108 x 64 ½ in.

Benny Andrews, Benny Andrews, The Unmentionables, 1970, oil and collage on canvas, 108 x 64 ½ in.

“I express myself best artistically somewhere between the ideas in my head and at the tip of my brush, because none of my finished canvases or any oral statements I am able to make are completely artistically successful. Therefore, I am destined to spend my life pushing my feelings toward the canvas and pulling them toward my mouth in order to satisfy this insatiable need to express myself.” – Benny Andrews

Leave a Reply

