The Underlying Root of Things

Peter Passuntino, Mother of War, 1969, Oil on canvas, 69/5 x 61/5 in.

Peter Passuntino, Mother of War, 1969, Oil on canvas, 69/5 x 61/5 in.

Peter Passuntino, History Park, 1969, Oil on canvas, 68.5 x 51.75 in

Peter Passuntino, History Park, 1969, Oil on canvas, 68.5 x 51.75 in

Perpetual War Machine, 2010, Oil on linen, 55”x50”

Perpetual War Machine, 2010, Oil on linen, 55”x50”

“It makes little difference to me whether I underline struggle or parenthesize happiness. I cannot capsulize my painting to fit the mood of an art-minded audience. I am more interested in discovering the underlying root of the things in my world and transferring them into a painting language.” – Peter Passuntino

Leave a Reply

