Archetypes of Humankind’s Pursuit to Make Something that is at the Same Time Elemental and Informed by Conscious Intellect.

Jay Milder, Expulsion IND, 1966, oil on Canvas, 34 x 36 in.

Jay Milder, Expulsion IND, 1966, oil on Canvas, 34 x 36 in.

Jau Milder, Space Dreams #35, 1968, Oil on Canvas,

Jay Milder, Space Dreams #35, 1968, Oil on Canvas,

Jay Milder, Bird Song - circa 1975, Oil on canvas 49 x 50 in

Jay Milder, Bird Song – circa 1975, Oil on canvas 49 x 50 in

“In my paintings, I use biblical and Midrashic tales. My method is Cabbalistic in that I work in a state of non-thinking revelation doing away with my intellect. I take a passage from the Bible, study it in many lights: its Hammurabic legal meaning, Talmudic and Midrashic meanings and all the commentary on it, even its Freudian counterparts. My method allows me to distill all this information; and working in a trance-like revelation, I am able to make a new commentary on it.” – Jay Milder

Leave a Reply

